Class Notes


Class Notes

Fall 2016
Share Email Print
Text: A

Alumni: Share your news!

We are proud to share your stories with our Medical School community in Class Notes. Submit your alumni news at


Theodore G. Dodenhoff (M.D. 1960) completed his undergraduate degree in history at the age of 79. Like many of his classmates, Dodenhoff enrolled in medical school after only three years of undergraduate work. He graduated with his granddaughter at U-M’s Michigan Stadium in May 2014.

Hossein Gharib (M.D. 1966) was recently awarded an honorary doctorate degree, Doctor Honoris Causa, by Carol Davila University of Medicine and Pharmacy in Bucharest, Romania. At the ceremony, he was recognized for his academic, scientific and human merits.


Steve R. Geiringer (M.D. 1979, Residency 1982) will be installed as president of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation in October 2016. He previously served as a director of the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation for 12 years.


Stella M. Bulengo (M.D. 1987, Residency 1991) co-authored a chapter on the genetics of sarcoidosis in the second edition of Taylor and Kelly’s Dermatology for Skin of Color, McGraw-Hill, 2016.

Lori Weber Karol (M.D. 1985) completed a year as president of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America. Karol was the first female president of the society in its history.

Demetrios N. Kyriacou (M.D. 1985), Ph.D., was recently appointed senior editor for the Journal of the American Medical Association.

Edward McGough (M.D. 1985) was appointed associate professor of anesthesia in the divisions of critical care medicine and cardiac anesthesia at the University of Florida in Gainesville.


Ronald Kuppersmith (M.D. 1993) was promoted to professor of surgery at Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Medicine. Kuppersmith also published Robotic Head and Neck Surgery: The Essential Guide, Thieme, 2015.


Natacha G. Chough (M.D. 2010) officially earned her NASA Flight Surgeon wings and is board certified in emergency medicine and in aerospace medicine. She is currently working at NASA’s Johnson Space Center in Houston as part of the physician group overseeing astronaut health.