Class Notes


Class Notes

Fall 2018
Share Email Print
Text: A

Alumni: Share your news!

Submit recent achievements and updates at


Glenn Geelhoed (M.D. 1968), professor of surgery, of international medical education, and of microbiology, immunology, and tropical medicine at the George Washington School of Medicine and Health Sciences; and founder of Mission to Heal, a nonprofit global medical missions agency that trains local practitioners in developing nations, wrote Ebenezer: Hither By Thy Help I’ve Come. The self-published book chronicles four of Geelhoed’s missions in Africa. 

Richard Alan Lewis (M.D. 1969, Fellowship 1971, Residency 1974), a professor of ophthalmology, molecular and human genetics, pediatrics, and medicine at the Baylor College of Medicine, was awarded the 2018 Bronze Medal by the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, and the Children’s Eye Foundation. 

Marshall Strome (M.D. 1964, Residency 1970), CEO and founder of Aero-Di-Namics, and professor and chairman emeritus of the Cleveland Clinic Head and Neck Institute, gave Vanderbilt University Medical Center’s 2017 Jesse Clyde Alley Lecture. Strome was also honored by Medrobotics, a surgical products company, with the naming of the Strome Innovation Laboratory. 

JoAnne V. Simson (M.S. 1961), Ph.D., professor emerita of anatomy and cell biology at the Medical University of South Carolina, self-published Laboratory Notebook, a collection of creative short stories about the complexities of laboratory work. 


David Fugenschuh (M.D. 1985, Residency 1989), a radiologist, was elected chief of staff at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor. He will serve a two-year term beginning in 2020. 

Robert D. Ross (M.D. 1981) served as guest editor of the March 2017 issue of Progress in Pediatric Cardiology. Ross also wrote a chapter in Heart Failure in the Child and Young Adult: From Bench to Bedside (Elsevier, 2017), and served as second editor of Cardiac Emergencies in Children: A Practical Approach to Diagnosis and Management (Springer, 2018). 


Ralph Crew, M.D. (Fellowship 1990), a retired ophthalmologist and general practitioner, published Retirement Planning for Young Physicians (LifeRich Publishing, 2017), which explores how changes in health system landscapes will affect retirement plans for recent medical school graduates. 

Sundeep Ekbote (M.D. 1994), an emergency medicine specialist, was appointed chief of emergency services at Monongahela Valley Hospital in Monongahela, Pa., in 2017. 

Stuart Sweet (M.D. 1990), Ph.D., the W. McKim Marriott Professor of Pediatrics at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, was named president-elect of the International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation. Sweet, medical director of the Pediatric Lung Transplant Program at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, will assume the role in 2019. 


Tolulope Sonuyi (M.D. 2008), assistant professor of emergency medicine at Wayne State University and founder of DLIVE, a hospital-based violence intervention program, received the 2018 Crain’s Detroit Business Health Care Hero Award. 


Roderick Kim (M.D. 2015), D.D.S., a maxillofacial surgery specialist in Fort Worth, Texas, contributed to Perioperative Assessment of the Maxillofacial Surgery Patient: Problem-based Patient Management (Springer, 2018).