Class notes


Class Notes

Spring 2018
Share Email Print
Text: A

Alumni: Share your news!

Submit recent achievements and updates at


Kevin Glynn, M.D. (Residency 1967), a pulmonologist in La Jolla, California, published Gasping for Air: How Breathing is Killing Us and What We Can Do About It, which details the fight against air pollution, dusts, carcinogens, and other infections. 


Christine Ebert-Santos (M.D. 1977), a pediatrician in Summit, Colorado, wrote “High Altitude Pulmonary Edema in Mountain Community Residents,” published in the September 2017 issue of High Altitude Medicine and Biology

Debra Koivunen (M.D. 1978), associate professor of surgery and senior associate dean of graduate medical education at the University of Missouri School of Medicine, received a distinguished service award from the Medical Alumni Organization of the University of Missouri. She also was elected president of the Frederick A. Coller Surgical Society and governor-at-large for Missouri in the American College of Surgeons. 

Henry S. Perkins (M.D. 1975) published A Guide to Psychosocial and Spiritual Care at the End of Life, for health professionals, patients, families, clergy, and social workers. Perkins taught internal medicine and medical ethics for 27 years at the University of Texas and currently works as a consultant in bioethics at the Ecumenical Center in San Antonio. 

John A. Vanlandingham (M.D. 1970) was honored during a Nov. 16 ceremony in Flomaton, Alabama, for his 43-year career in general medicine. Mayor Dewey J. Bondurant Jr. presented a city council resolution thanking Vanlandingham for his contributions, and renamed a street “Dr. Van Avenue” in celebration of his retirement. 


R. Scott Decker (Ph.D. 1982), a retired supervisory special agent in the FBI who worked on the Amerithrax Task Force and helped establish the field of microbial forensics, wrote Recounting the Anthrax Attacks: Terror, the Amerithrax Task Force, and the Evolution of Forensics in the FBI

John R. Goldblum (M.D. 1989, Residency 1992, Fellowship 1993), chairman of the Department of Pathology and professor of pathology at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, co-edited Rosai and Ackerman’s Surgical Pathology, 11th Edition. Two Michigan Medicine faculty also co-edited the volume: Laura Lamps, M.D., director of gastrointestinal pathology and chief patient safety officer, and Jeffrey Myers, M.D., the A. James French Professor of Diagnostic Pathology and director of the Division of Anatomic Pathology. 

Paul Louis Penar (M.D. 1981), professor of neurosurgery and vice chair for quality in the Department of Surgery at the University of Vermont Medical Center, was appointed chair of the National Neurosurgery Quality Council in Jan-uary 2017. 


Ronald B. Kuppersmith (M.D. 1993), professor of surgery at the Texas A&M Health Science Center, was elected to the board of directors of the American Board of Otolaryngology. 

Latha Palaniappan (M.D. 1996), professor of primary care and population health and of epidemiology at the Stanford University Medical Center, received the India Community Center’s Health Leadership Award for her efforts in representing understudied communities in medicine around the globe. 

Emmanuel Zervos (M.D. 1992), professor of surgery and chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology at the Brody School of Medicine in Greenville, North Carolina, was appointed executive director for cancer services for the Vidant Health System. Zervos has served as the founding chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology and vice chair of the Department of Surgery since 2007. 


Jim Lavelle, M.D. (Residency 2002), was appointed medical director of the surgical intensive care unit at the VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System in October 2017. He was also appointed medical director of the combined intensive care unit at the Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center, which opened in 2018.