Medicine at Michigan



Fall-Winter 2015
Share Email Print
Text: A

Bob Anderson, Ed.D., professor emeritus of learning health sciences, was given the Richard R. Rubin Award from the American Association for Diabetes, which recognizes a behavioral researcher who has made outstanding and/or innovative contributions to the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of diabetes. Anderson is a leader in the patient empowerment movement and has fostered the adoption of patient-centered collaborative diabetes care.

Robert H. Bartlett (M.D. 1963), professor emeritus of surgery, received the American Pediatric Surgery Association’s Robert E. Gross Award for Excellence in Pediatric Research and Achievement on May 2 at the association’s annual meeting in Fort Lauderdale. Bartlett was recognized for the development of Extracorporeal Life Support, which has saved tens of thousands of children with cardiac or pulmonary failure.

Jose Diaz, M.D., research assistant professor in the Section of Vascular Surgery, earned the Robert W. Hobson II, M.D., Early Career Investigator Award from the American Heart Association’s Council on Peripheral Vascular Disease. Diaz received the award during the 2015 Council Dinner at the Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology/PVD Scientific Sessions in San Francisco. A trained vascular surgeon, Diaz investigates the mechanism of deep vein thrombosis and potential therapeutic targets to prevent DVTs. His findings are developed in the Conrad Jobst Vascular Research Laboratories at the U-M Cardiovascular Research Center.

Chad Ellimoottil, M.D., a post doctoral fellow in the Department of Urology, received a Urology Care Foundation Research Scholar award for his project, “Medicare Payment Variation for Kidney Transplantation: Implications for Episode-Based Bundled Payments.” Ellimoottil is analyzing nationwide Medicare claims and hopes to inform policy makers about the benefits of using surgery-specific variables in clinical registry data when comparing the costs of transplantation at hospitals across the country.

Timothy R.B. Johnson, M.D. (Residency 1979), the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children and chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, received the distinguished merit award at the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics, or FIGO, Distinguished Merit Award World Congress Event in October.

The award “recognizes outstanding contribution to the ideals of FIGO and the promotion and support of women’s health worldwide.” Johnson was selected because of his outstanding contribution to FIGO, specifically through his contribution to the International Journal of Gynecology and Obstetrics. FIGO recognizes Johnson for his leadership of the OB-GYN department’s work in Ghana to improve women’s health, citing U-M’s success in Ghana “as a model for other academic institutions trying to improve the health of women and the outcome of pregnancy worldwide.”

Sachin Kheterpal (M.D. 1999, Residency 2008), associate professor of anesthesiology and member of the Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation Center, will serve on a newly formed team of experts selected to chart the course for the national President’s Precision Medicine Initiative research network. The team of experts will deliver a preliminary report in September 2015 with the goal of informing better prevention and treatment strategies. Kheterpal is credited with legitimizing outcomes research derived from electronic health records to help improve quality of care and patient safety.

Robert Kiningham, M.D. (Residency 1992, Fellowship 1993), associate professor of family medicine, received the Founders Award from the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine Foundation, or AMSSM. The award is given to an individual who exemplifies the best a physician “can be or do in sports medicine.”

Rodica Pop-Busui, M.D., Ph.D. (Fellowship 2001), professor of internal medicine, and her team have been recognized for excellence in study recruitment for the Preventing Early Renal Function Loss in Type 1 Diabetes, or PERL, Trial by the PERL Executive Committee and the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. The U-M clinical research team and its affiliate subsite at Henry Ford Health System was acknowledged for recruiting the largest number of subjects in the study among all the research sites, as well as for exceeding the study quota by more than double during the first four months of this year.

Gaurang Vrindavan Shah, M.D., has been inducted as a fellow in the American College of Radiology, or ACR. The induction took place at a formal convocation ceremony during the recent ACR 2015 meeting in Washington, D.C. Shah is associate professor of radiology at U-M and a staff radiologist at the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System.

Diane Simeone, M.D. (Residency 1995), the Lazar J. Greenfield Professor of Surgery, professor of molecular and integrative physiology, and director of the Pancreatic Cancer Center in the U-M Comprehensive Cancer Center, was recently named the upcoming chair of the National Scientific and Medical Advisory Board for the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. Her two-year term as chair runs from 2017 to 2019. Simeone will serve as chair-elect until then. The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network is a national organization dedicated to creating hope for patients with pancreatic cancer through research, patient support, community outreach and government advocacy.

Bradley Uren (M.D. 2002, Residency 2006), assistant professor of emergency medicine and associate director of Survival Flight, received the Ronald L. Krome, M.D., Meritorious Service Award from the Michigan College of Emergency Physicians, or MCEP. The prestigious award is given annually to one recipient who must be an active, life or active honorary member of the MCEP and a present or past MCEP leader who has made an outstanding contribution to the college by significantly helping to achieve one or more of its purposes and/or objectives. Uren is the only current U-M Health System faculty member to receive the award and the youngest Krome award winner in its history.

Max Wicha, M.D., the Madeline and Sidney Forbes Professor of Oncology and professor of internal medicine, was appointed by President Obama to the National Cancer Advisory Board. The 18-member board is charged with advising the secretary of Health and Human Services, the director of the National Cancer Institute, or NCI, and ultimately the president of the United States on a range of issues affecting the nation’s cancer program and NCI operations. Wicha will serve a six-year term.