Winter 2017
Share Email Print
Text: A

Matthew L. Boulton, M.D., professor of epidemiology, of preventive medicine, and of health management and policy at the School of Public Health; and professor of internal medicine at the Medical School, received the 2016 Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award from the American College of Preventive Medicine. The award honors outstanding achievements or contributions to the preventive medicine specialty. Boulton is also the senior associate dean for global public health at the U-M School of Public Health. 

John M. Carethers, M.D. (Fellowship 1995), is one of four U-M faculty members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a prestigious society that recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in scholarly and professional fields. Carethers is the John G. Searle Professor of Internal Medicine, professor of human genetics and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine. 

Ronald Chervin, M.D., professor of neurology, became the 31st president of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, or AASM, board of directors. He will serve a one-year term and will provide direction for the nearly 10,000 physicians, scientists and allied health professionals who are members of the AASM, the leading professional society in the medical subspecialty of sleep medicine. Chervin is also the Michael S. Aldrich Collegiate Professor of Sleep Medicine. 

Justin Dimick, M.D. (Residency 2007), the George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery and director of the Center for Healthcare Outcomes and Policy, became the new chair of the National Institutes of Health, or NIH, Health Services Organization and Delivery Study Section, or HSOD. The HSOD reviews health services research funding applications that include multidisciplinary investigations of the organization, delivery, utilization and outcomes of health services. Dimick is also the chief of the Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery, associate professor of health management and policy at the School of Public Health and part of the institute leadership team at the Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation. 

Chad Ellimoottil, M.D., assistant professor of urology, was named to AcademyHealth’s 2016 Presidential Scholars Program for New Health Services Researchers. The program was established in 2012 to provide more support to promising new researchers and offer unique access to AcademyHealth’s annual research meeting. 

Michael D. Fetters, M.D., professor of family medicine and director of the Japanese Family Health Program, was named the 2016 Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Social Sciences. Fetters will lead a project at Peking University in Beijing to examine physician approaches to disclosing cancer diagnoses, as well as the underlying cultural factors behind their approach. His five-month fellowship ran through the end of 2016. 

Jessica Mellinger, M.D. (Fellowships 2014 and 2015), clinical lecturer of internal medicine, was the recipient of the 2016 Clinical Translational Research Award in Liver Diseases from the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. She was among 20 future leaders chosen for the award based on their professional potential and experience. 

Susan A. Murphy, Ph.D., the Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; research professor in the Institute for Social Research; and professor of psychiatry in the Medical School, was inducted into the National Academy of Science, or NAS. Membership in the NAS is one of the highest distinctions for a scientist or engineer in the United States. 

David E. Sandberg, Ph.D., director of the Division of Pediatric Psychology in the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, has been named a member of the Sexual and Gender Minority Research Working Group of the NIH. This group is an official working group of the NIH Council of Councils, a body that provides advice to the NIH director on matters related to the policies and activities of the Division of Program Coordination, Planning and Strategic Initiatives. 

Marianne Udow-Phillips, MHSA, director of the Center for Healthcare Research and Transformation, is among the Crain’s Detroit Business top 100 most influential women in Michigan. Udow-Phillips is featured for her role in working with the state of Michigan and writing the winning grant for the five-year, $110 million Michigan Primary Care Transformation demonstration project. 


Professorships Recently Inaugurated 

Endowed professorships are among the highest honors the U-M Medical School awards to our faculty. These professorships, often made possible by the generosity of private individuals and foundations, honor the groundbreaking work faculty pursue — in the name of education, patient care and research. View the list of professorships recently awarded.