Faculty milestones and accolades



Fall 2018
Share Email Print
Text: A

Andrew Barnosky, D.O., M.P.H., professor of emergency medicine, of learning health sciences, and of internal medicine, received the 2018 Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award. The award recognizes an SAEM member who exemplifies compassionate, patient-centered care. 

Ruth C. Carlos, M.D. (Residency 1998), professor of radiology, will become editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American College of Radiology (JACR) in January 2019. Carlos has been a contributor to the JACR for 12 years and established the journal’s digital media portfolio. She previously served as deputy editor of the JACR in 2013. 

Gregory W. Dalack, M.D., associate professor and chair of psychiatry, was elected treasurer of the American Psychiatric Association for a two-year term. 

Zora Djuric, Ph.D., professor of family medicine, was selected as a Fulbright Global Scholar. Djuric will be involved in many educational activities during her tenure, including participating in research group meetings and giving public lectures on her work in dietary cancer prevention. 

Kim A. Eagle, M.D., the Albion Walter Hewlett Professor of Internal Medicine and a director of the Frankel Cardiovascular Center, received a Hometown Health Hero Award for his work as co-founder of Project Healthy Schools, a collaboration between Michigan Medicine and the community designed to reduce childhood obesity and its long-term health risks. 

Grace H. Elta (M.D. 1977), the H. Marvin Pollard Collegiate Professor of Gastroenterology and professor of internal medicine, received the prestigious Rudolf V. Schindler Award from the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE) during the annual Digestive Diseases Week meeting. This award is the highest honor that ASGE bestows. 

Maya Hammoud (M.D. 1996, Residency 2000), professor of obstetrics and gynecology and of learning health sciences, became the 52nd president of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics. Hammoud will focus her presidency initiative on the integration of health systems sciences into the curriculum. 

Joel J. Heidelbaugh, M.D., director of the Medical Student Education program and professor of family medicine and of urology, is one of only two primary care physicians among the authors of new erectile dysfunction guidelines. The guidelines will be published in the Journal of Urology

Timothy R.B. Johnson, M.D. (Residency 1979), was honored with the Society of Family Planning’s Allan Rosenfield Award for Lifetime Contributions to International Family Planning. Johnson is an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children, and former chair of obstetrics and gynecology. He is also a research professor in the Center for Human Growth and Development. 

Cheryl King, Ph.D., professor of psychiatry and psychology, and director of the U-M Youth Depression and Suicide Prevention Program, was given the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) Research Award. King has developed intervention programs and suicide risk-assessment strategies for youth in health care settings and serves as an AFSP scientific adviser and research mentor. 

John C. Magee, M.D. (Residencies 1991 and 1996, Fellowship 1998), was elected chair of the board of directors of the National Kidney Foundation of Michigan. Magee is the Jeremiah and Claire Turcotte Professor of Transplantation Surgery, head of the Section of Transplantation in the Department of Surgery, and professor of internal medicine and of pediatrics and communicable diseases. He also is the director of the U-M Transplant Center and surgical director of pediatric abdominal transplantation. 

V.G. Vinod Vydiswaran, Ph.D., won the Outstanding Educator Award for Innovation for his massive open online course (MOOC), “Applied Data Science with Python Specialization,” at the sixth annual Coursera Partners Conference. Vydiswaran is an assistant professor of learning health sciences. 

Edward Wojtys (M.D. 1979, Residency 1984), the William S. Smith Collegiate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and co-founder of MedSport, U-M’s team of sports medicine and physical therapy specialists, was inducted into the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine’s hall of fame.