Spring 2018
Share Email Print
Text: A

Robert H. Bartlett (M.D. 1963), professor emeritus of surgery, received the 2018 Earl Bakken Scientific Achievement Award from the Society of Thoracic Surgeons. A pioneer in the field of critical care, Bartlett is best known for developing the lifesaving heart-lung technology known as extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). ECMO provides prolonged cardiac and respiratory support by removing blood from the body of the person experiencing heart or lung failure, artificially removing carbon dioxide, and oxygenating red blood cells before returning the blood to the patient. 

MeiLan Han, M.D. (Residency 2002, Fellowship 2005), associate professor of internal medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, received the European Respiratory Society Gold Medal in COPD, which recognizes a researcher who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of COPD and who is pursuing an active research project in COPD. Han serves on editorial boards for major scientific journals, is a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the COPD Foundation and the American Lung Association, and is the primary investigator for large National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute-funded COPD cohort studies. 

Alan Sugar (M.D. 1969, Residency 1970), professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences at the Kellogg Eye Center, received the Cornea Society’s Castroviejo Medal, awarded annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of cornea and anterior segment surgery. Sugar has been involved in clinical research on corneal transplantation, genetic features of Fuchs’ dystrophy, and new treatments for severely dry eyes. He also is involved with eye research through his work on committees for the Eye Bank Association of America and the Michigan Eye Bank. 

Bradley Uren (M.D. 2002, Residency 2006), assistant professor of emergency medicine, was reappointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. The 11-member board advises the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services on issues affecting prescription drug coverage for its health care programs. Uren will serve a two-year term.