Professorships recently inaugurated

Summer 2019
Share Email Print
Text: A

The Andrew B. Briskin Research Professorship in Pediatrics, inaugurated in April 2019, honors the life of Andrew Briskin, philanthropist Edith S. Briskin’s son, who died from complications that developed after he contracted HIV/AIDS. Edith Briskin hopes that, by directing her support toward programming and research, she will provide an opportunity to advance groundbreaking ideas to help people fighting infectious diseases. The professorship will carry on Andrew’s passion for helping people and the world around him. Suzanne Dawid, M.D., Ph.D., also an associate professor of microbiology and immunology, will serve as the first Andrew B. Briskin Research Professor of Pediatrics.

David A. Antonetti, Ph.D., was named the inaugural Roger W. Kittendorf Research Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences in April 2019. Kittendorf, who died in 2012, was a thoughtful investor who wanted to make a difference in the world. While he requested anonymity for the gifts he made during his lifetime, the W.K. Kellogg Eye Center is honored to now celebrate his giving publicly. This professorship will ensure that the important work of advancing knowledge to save sight continues, creating a legacy of progress and hope. Antonetti is also a professor of molecular and integrative physiology.

The Margaret Terpenning, M.D., Collegiate Professorship in Geriatric and Palliative Medicine was inaugurated in April 2019. Terpenning (M.D. 1978, Residency and Fellowship 1982), who died in 2013, was renowned for her research on the relationship between dental disease and coronary heart disease, and was regarded as a compassionate clinician. She also ran the Geriatrics Research Education and Clinical Care Unit at the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System. Julie P.W. Bynum, M.D., joined the faculty at U-M as the Margaret Terpenning, M.D., Collegiate Professor of Geriatric and Palliative Medicine, and is also a member of the Institute of Gerontology, associate director of health policy and research in the Geriatrics Center, and a member of the Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation.