Faculty milestones and accolades

Winter 2019
Share Email Print
Text: A

Gary Hammer, M.D., Ph.D., the Millie Schembechler Professor of Adrenal Cancer, has been elected president of the Endocrine Society, beginning in 2020. He is the director of the Endocrine Oncology Program at Michigan Medicine.

William Herman, M.D. (Residency 1982, Fellowship 1987), the Stefan S. Fajans/GlaxoSmithKline Professor of Diabetes and director of the Michigan Center for Diabetes Translational Research, has been appointed to the National Clinical Care Commission. The commission evaluates and provides recommendations on federal programs related to complex metabolic or autoimmune diseases that result from insulin-related issues, such as diabetes.

J. Michelle Kahlenberg, M.D., Ph.D. (Fellowship 2011), the Giles G. Bole, M.D., and Dorothy Mulkey, M.D., Research Professor of Rheumatology, was awarded the annual Mary Betty Stevens Young Investigator Prize by the Lupus Foundation of America.

James Leonard Jr. (M.D. 1972, Residency 1975), professor emeritus of physical medicine and rehabilitation, received a lifetime achievement award from the American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine.

Costas Lyssiotis, Ph.D., assistant professor of molecular and integrative physiology, and of internal medicine, was awarded the prestigious Research Scholar Grant from the American Cancer Society. The winning project will look at intratumoral metabolic crosstalk mechanisms in pancreatic cancer, studying how tumors survive and grow with the hope of developing targeted therapies. Howard Crawford, Ph.D., professor of molecular and integrative physiology, and of internal medicine, and Marina Pasca di Magliano, Ph.D., associate professor of surgery, are co-investigators.

Okeoma Mmeje (M.D. and MPH 2006), assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, received the Passion for Public Health Award from the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services.

Lori Pierce, M.D., professor of radiation oncology and vice provost for academic and faculty affairs, was elected president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Her appointment begins in 2019 with a year as president-elect, followed by a one-year term as president. She also was named the 2019 Woman of the Year by the United Way of Washtenaw County Women United group.

Joshua Stein, M.D., the Edward T. and Ellen K. Dryer Career Development Professor in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the W.K. Kellogg Eye Center, is the recipient of the Lighthouse Guild 2018 Pisart Award. A pioneer of big data analyses in the field of ophthalmology, he focuses on trends in eye care services.