Fall 2020
Share Email Print
Text: A

Vikas Gulani, M.D. (Residency 2005, Fellowship 2006), Ph.D., became the inaugural Fred Jenner Hodges Professor of Radiology in September 2019. Hodges was a longtime chair of the Department of Radiology and, following his retirement from radiology, assistant dean of the Medical School. The professorship was created in memory of Hodges by friends, colleagues, and former students, to honor his enthusiastic teaching and tireless research. Gulani, who is also chair of the Department of Radiology, hopes he will continue to contribute to the excellence of Michigan Medicine and help it “be known as one of the best places to work.”

Yi Sun, M.D., Ph.D., became the inaugural Theodore S. Lawrence, M.D., Ph.D. and Patricia Krause Research Professor of Radiation Oncology* in November 2019. Funded through an estate gift from Patricia Krause in honor of her physician, Theodore Lawrence, who is the Isadore Lampe Professor of Radiation Oncology and chair of the department, the professorship supports innovative research in new treatments for cancer. An active and positive person, Patricia “Patte” Krause asked her friends not to mourn her passing, but to remember her by letting the little things go and by following their passions. “She has made an incredible difference,” Lawrence says. “Science is expensive, and the resources provided by the professorship will enable us to keep moving forward to benefit patients. Dr. Sun has done beautiful research to facilitate advances … and this will be instrumental in continuing that trajectory.” Sun is working on validation of Cullin-RING ubiquitin ligase (CRL) as a promising cancer target for anti-cancer drug discovery.

Liangyou Rui (Ph.D. 1998) became the inaugural Louis G. D’Alecy Collegiate Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology in January. To honor D’Alecy, a beloved teacher and professor emeritus of molecular and integrative physiology, the professorship was created through gifts from Jeffrey Kirsch (M.D. 1983), who was a student of D’Alecy and is now chair emeritus and professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine at Oregon Health and Science University; Robin Kirsch; the Medical School; and family, faculty, alumni, and friends. “I really enjoy research, but working with students is so rewarding,” says Rui.

Norah Lynn Henry, M.D., Ph.D. (Fellowship 2007), became the inaugural Daniel F. Hayes, M.D., Breast Cancer Research Professor in July. The professorship, created thanks to an anonymous donation, honors Hayes, the Stuart B. Padnos Professor of Breast Cancer Research and a professor of internal medicine. Hayes is widely recognized as an expert in discovering and testing biomarkers in breast cancer tissue and in blood. These biomarkers guide the management of patients, and his work has led to tests that are now used clinically. Hayes also developed globally accepted guidelines for researchers and clinicians pursuing the discovery and use of additional biomarkers. Henry, who is also an associate professor of internal medicine, initially came to Michigan Medicine to work with Hayes as a hematology and oncology fellow. “I have appreciated all of the guidance and mentorship he has given me over the years, so to hold a professorship in his name is truly an honor,” she says.

Catherine E.H. Keegan (M.D. and Ph.D. 1996) became the inaugural Charles E. Lytle Jr. Research Professor of Pediatrics in September. In 1979, Lytle set up a trust for his daughter, Margaret, stipulating that any funds remaining after her death would be donated to the U-M Medical School for research on epilepsy, cerebral palsy, and developmental disorders. “If the Lytle family only knew what their gifts were allowing me and other faculty members to do in terms of research and pursuing projects,” says Keegan, who is also a professor of human genetics. “Major funding is so difficult to obtain, especially for us in genetics. This professorship is really going to boost my ability to contribute to this area.” Keegan hopes this professorship will allow her to advance research projects that will make a difference in how children and families access the care they need to better understand and manage genetic conditions.

Venkatesh Murthy, M.D., Ph.D., became the inaugural Melvyn Rubenfire Professor of Preventive Cardiology in September. A gift from Harold Peplau funded the professorship, which honors Rubenfire’s career of more than 50 years as an innovative cardiologist. When Rubenfire joined the Department of Internal Medicine in 1991, preventive cardiology was widely considered a money loser, garnering little respect from the medical community, says Rubenfire. But he was a strong believer in preventive care, so he helped develop a clinical, teaching, and research prevention center. Rubenfire has since expanded the center’s offerings to include vascular medicine, hypertension, women’s health, and the Metabolic Fitness Program (MetFit). He also explored the impact of mental health on cardiovascular health, resulting in the addition of a social worker and behavioral psychologist at Domino’s Farms, where he is medical director of cardiovascular medicine. Murthy, who is also associate professor of cardiovascular medicine and of radiology, serves as the director of cardiac PET research for the U-M Samuel and Jean Frankel Cardiovascular Center. Some of his recent research includes using PET and CT imaging and serum biomarkers so doctors can assess cardiometabolic risk in a non-invasive way. This novel research has earned him a reputation as a rising star in cardiovascular medicine.

Kristin L. Chrouser, M.D., became the inaugural S. Matthew Berge, M.D., Research Professor in October. Created with a gift from the Corkill family, the professorship honors an accomplished physician-scientist whose many contributions to clinical care, research, and medical education have had a profound influence on medicine. Berge, who died in 2017, was a beloved physician who spent most of his career in private practice in San Diego. Chrouser is also an associate professor of urology, with a clinical practice at the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System. “I am so honored and hope that we can commemorate Dr. Berge’s legacy by designing a ‘Smart OR’ that will lead the way in team stress reduction, performance optimization, and improved patient surgical outcomes,” says Chrouser. “And I would like it all to be affordable enough so it’s available in every OR in the country.”

Leslie S. Satin, Ph.D., became the inaugural Joanne I. Moore Research Professor of Pharmacology in November. A gift from Moore’s estate funded the professorship, which honors her contributions to research in medical education. Moore earned a Ph.D. in cardiovascular pharmacology at U-M in 1959 and in 1973, she became the first female chair of the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Oklahoma. In 1998, she was named a David Ross Boyd Professor, the highest teaching award bestowed by the University of Oklahoma. She also was active in medical education at the national level, working with the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the Association of Medical School Pharmacology Chairs, and the Association of American Medical Colleges. Satin, who also is a professor of internal medicine, says, “I never got to meet Dr. Moore, but I’m in awe of her excellent research, and that she was one of the first female chairs of a pharmacology department. I hope to bring honor and recognition to her and her many contributions to pharmacology.”

*In our winter 2020 issue, we mistakenly said Patricia Krause created this professorship in honor of her husband. In fact, she created it in honor of her physician.