Winter 2020
Share Email Print
Text: A

Cem Akin, M.D., Ph.D., professor of allergy and clinical immunology, has been selected as president of the Michigan Allergy & Asthma Society.

Ruma Banerjee, Ph.D., the Vincent Massey Collegiate Professor of Biological Chemistry and associate chair of the department, received the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 2019 ASBMB-Merck Award.

Robert Bartlett (M.D. 1963), professor emeritus of surgery, received the 2018 Society of Thoracic Surgeons Earl Baaken Scientific Achievement Award for innovation in thoracic surgery and the 2019 Society of Critical Care Medicine Lifetime Achievement Award. Bartlett is best known for developing the lifesaving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) heart-lung bypass system. He maintains an active research lab at U-M.

Asheesh Bedi (M.D. 2002, Residency 2007), the Harold W. and Helen L. Gehring Early Career Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, and director
of the Sports Medicine and Joint Preservation Center and of the Michigan Center for Human Athletic Medicine and Performance (MCHAMP), was selected as host orthopaedic physician for the August 2019 soccer match between FC Barcelona and SSC Napoli at Michigan Stadium.

Vineet Chopra, M.D. (M.Sc. 2011), associate professor of internal medicine and chief of the Division of Hospital Medicine, received the Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award from the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research.

John Danko, D.O., clinical lecturer in physical medicine and rehabilitation, has been named medical director of the Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility for the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

John O.L. DeLancey (M.D. 1977, Residency 1981), the Norman F. Miller Collegiate Professor of Gynecology, director of pelvic floor research, and professor of urology, was named the 39th president of the American Gynecological and Obstetrical Society.

Michael J. Imperiale, Ph.D., Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and associate vice president for research-policy and compliance, addressed the U.N. on a framework for assessing potential security vulnerabilities due to biotechnology in an age of synthetic biology.

Reshma Jagsi, M.D., D.Phil., the Newman Family Professor of Radiation Oncology and director of the U-M Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine, received the Association of American Medical Colleges Group on Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Award.

Joseph C. Kolars, M.D. (Fellowship 1989), the Josiah Macy, Jr., Professor of Health Professions Education and senior associate dean for educa- tion and global initiatives at the Medical School, received the 2019 Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). It is the AAMC’s most prestigious honor.

George Mashour, M.D., Ph.D., formerly the Bert N. La Du Professor of Anesthesiology and associ- ate dean for clinical and translational research, was appointed as chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and was named the Robert B. Sweet Professor of Anesthesiology. He is also director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research.

Srijan Sen (M.D. and Ph.D. 2005), the Frances and Kenneth Eisenberg Professor of Depression and Neurosciences, has been appointed associate vice president for research-health sciences. Sen is also associate professor of psychiatry and research associate professor at the Institute for Data Sci- ence and the Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience Institute.

Akbar Karim Waljee, M.D. (Residency 2005, M.Sc. 2007), associate professor of gastroenterology, received the Distinguished Clinical and Transla- tional Research Mentor Award from the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research.

Yang Zhang, Ph.D., professor of computational medicine and bioinformatics, and of biological chemistry, received the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 2020 ASBMB-DeLano Award for Computational Biosci- ences, given to a scientist for the most accessible and innovative development or application of computer technology to enhance research in the life sciences at the molecular level.