Winter 2022
Share Email Print
Text: A

T. Anthony Denton, J.D., M.H.A., senior vice president and chief operating officer of U-M Health, has been named chair-elect of the Michigan Health & Hospital Association. His term as chair begins in 2022.

Dee E. Fenner, M.D. (Residency 1989), the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children, as well as professor of obstetrics and gynecology and chair of the department, was named the 41st president of the American Gynecological and Obstetrical Society.

Christopher Friese, Ph.D., R.N., the Elizabeth Tone Hosmer Professor of Nursing and associate director for cancer control and population sciences at the U-M Health Rogel Cancer Center, was appointed to the National Cancer Advisory Board by President Joseph Biden.

A. Oveta Fuller, Ph.D., associate professor of microbiology and immunology, was chosen as the inaugural recipient of the Detroit Area Pre-College Engineering Program (DAPCEP) STEM Wonder Maker Award to honor a Michigander who has created new pathways in science, technology, engineering, or math. The award was created to commemorate the 10th year of DAPCEP Real McCoy Awards.

Maya Hammoud (M.D. 1996, Residency 2000), MBA, the J. Robert Willson Research Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and professor of learning health sciences, received a 2021 Alumni Difference Maker Award from the University of Michigan-Dearborn, for her outstanding professional accomplishments and demonstrated public service and leadership.

Lori Isom, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Pharmacology, the Maurice H. Seevers Collegiate Professor of Pharmacology, and professor of molecular and integrative physiology and of neurology, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine, one of the highest honors for a clinician and scientist.

Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D. (Residency 1998), the Marguerite S. Roll Professor of Medical Education and associate professor of internal medicine and of learning health sciences, has been named the director of the Michigan Center for Interprofessional Education.

Andrew Rosenberg, M.D., chief information officer for Michigan Medicine and associate professor of anesthesiology and of internal medicine, was named the Healthcare CIO of the Year by MichiganCIO. 

David Spahlinger, M.D. (Residency 1984), professor of internal medicine and former U-M Health President (2016-2020), received a 2021 Special Recognition Award from the Michigan Health & Hospital Association for his extensive contributions to health care.

Wendy R. Uhlmann (M.S. 1987), professor of internal medicine and of human genetics, was elected to the board of directors of the American Society of Human Genetics for a three-year term, beginning January 2022.

Julie Ziobro, M.D., assistant professor of pediatrics, has been awarded a PCHD19 Alliance/AES Research Training Fellowship for Clinicians from the American Epilepsy Society, for her work on mechanisms of PCDH19 clustering epilepsy.